External Motivation

Need a little push actually committing to your exercise goals? If you’re struggling to find the drive from inside then try looking around you for motivation. Is your family a source of motivation? Can your spouse or children create a sense of drive in you or maybe even a cause that you feel strongly about or a charity that you believe in? What about a favorite picture of you…

The point is that we all loose drive at one point or another and we need a little push from the outside that we can’t seem to muster in our own minds and hearts. And it doesn’t all have to come from one place! In reality it’s probably more of a mixture of internal drive and external forces that push us to get up off the couch and go to the gym or go for a walk or run a marathon.

A perfect example that I can relate to happened to me this past weekend. I was about to begin the first leg of a triathlon and was really nervous because I hadn’t trained as much as I wanted to because my vacation was a little over a week prior. I was not prepared. I knew it but it hadn’t really sunk in until they called for my age group to enter the water. My motivation…I was there for myself for many reasons but only I have to answer to me. Easy to excuse myself, right? I was also there as part of a charity team called Ryan’s Quest (www.ryansquest.org) – a wonderful organization dedicated to fighting Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy. Not so easy to excuse yourself now because you’re there for a higher purpose.

So make your next run count for more than just great health. You’ll reap more than the physical benefits and have a greater positive impact.

Do you have something to share? Let me know what you think!

